HAIR CARE TIPS · Hair Talks · Nappy Hair Journal

5 Things I’ve Learned On My Journey To Long Hair


By FroBunni:

frobunni

 

CONSISTENCY:

I do the same thing each week. I wash at the beginning of the week, cowash in the middle of the week, and I moisturize and seal almost daily. I do this day in, month out, and all year round. Consistency helps to ward off breakage and dry hair, and it also means that I will be style ready at all points of the week. It is the key for growing long hair, as well as making natural hair easy.

 

I’M UNIQUE:

I used to try to use other naturals’ regimens as my own. I would eat up my favorite bloggers and vloggers regimens, only to find it didn’t work for my hair or wasn’t working within my time commitments. Instead, I had to develop my own regimen. Because my hair is unique only to me, I had to create my own regimen, my own techniques, and my how-to’s for hair styles so that everything fit perfectly for me.

11666108_855777771166902_1478957828775450097_n

 

PATIENCE IS GOLDEN:

I big chopped in 2009, I wasn’t waist length by 2010. In fact, it took til 2013 for me to reach waist length hair. I can’t say that I embodied patience at all times, but I knew that I could do nothing other than be patient.

 

MIRACLE PRODUCTS DON’T EXIST:

Miracle products promise an ideal outcome with little effort. They’re always too good to be true. From tea rinses to scalp massages to protective styles, I used to try everything to grow my hair quickly until I realized that they weren’t working…and some were even causing damage. Instead of trying to find a miracle product, I began to focus on products that properly moisturized my hair and products that made my hair strong. I began to incorporate techniques to prevent breakage. When I focused on the health of my hair, my hair began to flourish.

10338260_842465289164817_6160508640235192061_n

 

HEALTH OVER AESTHETICS:

I continue to struggle with this today. But I always have to remind myself to focus on the health of my hair. When my hair starts to get dry in the middle of the week, I can’t continue with my hairstyle, I need to cowash and start over. If I love my stretched style, but my ends are getting ragged, I have to wash. And in the summer when humidity is at an all time high, I need to stick to protect styles. Making a hairstyle last isn’t worth the damage it causes.

 

983855_789093514501995_1530408825212757118_n

 

Follow this beautiful lady on Facebook @ FroBunni

And her blog @ http://www.FroBunni.com

Her hair is gorg and healthy as you can see and she’ a wonderful yogina with etremely impossible poses!

If you love Yoga,,, you’ll love her too!

UNTIL NEXT TIME,

BYE!

5 thoughts on “5 Things I’ve Learned On My Journey To Long Hair

Leave a Reply

